National News

Statement by the Prime Minister of Canada congratulating the recipients of the 2014 Nobel Peace Prize

Prime Minister Stephen Harper today issued the following statement to congratulate this year’s recipients of the Nobel Peace Prize:

“Today in Oslo, Norway, the Norwegian Nobel Committee announced that it has selected children’s rights activists Malala Yousafzai of Pakistan and Kailash Satyarthi of India as the 2014 recipients of the Nobel Peace Prize.

“The Norwegian Nobel Committee cited the two ‘for their struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education.’